Inside the walls

After (successfully) completion of one year in IIT, I feel its really a wonderful time here, once again experiencing the extreme ends of the life. Also a good break from the corporate life. On analyzing, how I spent the whole year, I found that I spent 80% of the time in my room and lab (mostly loaded with assignments and projects). I have to thank our mess workers for preparing the mess(y) food and there by guiding us towards the path ‘Nirvana’.

Another year staying alone inside the walls. In some way, I feel that staying in my room is similar to stay in a prison. And I came to know the minimum things that are needed to lead a life.

In the movie ‘The Shawshank Redemption‘, the word ‘institutionalized’ is described as ,”These prison walls are funny. First you hate ’em, then you get used to ’em. Enough time passes, gets so you depend on them. That’s institutionalized.” That’s true, initially, I hate it, then used to it and now it’s my favorite place. Couple of months ago, one day in the afternoon someone knocked my room door. I opened it and a person who is standing outside said to me, “I’m Deepak. I was staying in this room few years back and I just want to visit”. Then he came inside, started looking around and went to the window said, “Till the tree is there… so, it’s got painted”. Then he touched the cot and he was standing in the room for couple minutes. After that he said, “Thanks” and he went.

Many people, from 1965 are staying in this room and now it’s my turn. Now, there are few members also stay with me. The spiders who often decorates the ceiling of my room with their design patterns. A lizard, which is usually guest, often comes to my room. And let see how I’m going to push it for two for years.

Leave a Reply

